Senator P. Derek Lewis, Q.C.

David C. Day, Q.C.

As of 01 July 2020:

 the two partners (P. Derek Lewis, Q.C. passed, 19 January 2017) had, cumulatively, practiced law as Solicitors and Barristers of The Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, for 120 years, 6.5 months

P. Derek Lewis, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 210), was the longest continuously-practicing lawyer in Newfoundland and Labrador history: 68 years, two and one-half months. He was admitted to law practice at the Newfoundland and Labrador Bar on 14 October 1947 (Solicitor) and 15 October 1967 (Barrister). He ceased, as a Barrister and Solicitor licensed by the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador, to practice law on 31 December 2015. He was then appointed a non-practicing Life Member of the Society; a status he held when he passed in 2017. In totality, as either a practicing or as a non-practicing Barrister and Solicitor, he was a member of the Newfoundland and Labrador Bar for 69 years, three months.

David C. Day, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 278), currently, is the longest continuously-practicing lawyer in Newfoundland and Labrador: 52 years, 4 months. He was admitted to law practice at the Newfoundland and Labrador Bar on 26 February 1968
, (having intermittently been Lewis Q.C.’s law clerk from June 1959 to 25 February 1968).

(Other living lawyers, admitted to law practice at the Bar of Newfoundland and Labrador before Day, Q.C., have not continuously practiced law since admission due, for example, to eminent public service as a Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador Supreme Court or as an elected member of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador, or both, or as a member of the Parliament of Canada, or as chair of a Royal Commission, including: Hon. Fintan J. Aylward, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 238); Hon. Geoffrey Leonard Steele, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 245); Hon. William Walter Marshall, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 246); Hon. Robert Wells, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 247); Hon. David Gerald Riche, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 251); Hon. Gerald Francis Lang, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 252); Hon. Richard Joseph Cashin, Q.C. (Bar Admission #  257); Hon. Clyde Kirby Wells, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 262, former Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador and former Chief Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador); Hon. Edward Moxon Roberts, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 263, former leader of the Opposition in the Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly); F. Alfred D. Pike, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 268); Hon. William Neil Rowe, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 272); and Ernest George Reid, Q.C. (Bar Admission # 275).)




Home Page